It’s an Adoptee Thing

I haven’t been adopted much lately. I’m blowing off more Adoptee Rights Demonstration meetings than I attending, I haven’t blogged, honestly I haven’t given adoption much thought. It will always be there.

Adoption is always there, it runs like a current below everything thing else. Below the big losses that everyone experiences, below the day-to-day bullshit, even below the happy. Adoption is just there and I know it’s not going anywhere. I’ve dealt with it long enough I can ignore it, for a while.

There are, however, some things I cannot let go. I can’t sit back and see the work adoptees, and their supporters, have done collectively be co-opted, corrupted, or used to leverage an unrelated goal. So many have worked so hard, so tirelessly, so long, and that work is really beginning to pay off.

The right to identity is a civil right, an adoptee’s civil right. It really is all about us. Don’t forget it. Don’t make me get all adopted again.

2 thoughts on “It’s an Adoptee Thing

  1. It’s OK to take a break. Don’t beat yourself up if you do. You’re right. Adoption and its trials and triumphs will still be there, and hopefully you will too.

  2. “The right to identity is a civil right, an adoptee’s civil right. It really is all about us. Don’t forget it.”

    I wish more people understood this and stopped hiding behind first mother’s aprons.

Leave a Reply

