A Call To Action

Again and again it has been pointed out that adoptees have nothing to say about access to adoption records or how we will be treated by our own government. Everyone else’s rights involved in adoption trump ours, the first parents, the adoptive parents, the agencies, the courts. We are effectively reduced to the status of children.

Equal treatment under the law is a cornerstone of our republic. So if we are treated as children in the matter of our adoptions, shouldn’t we be treated as children in every other aspect?

I’m thinking there could be some advantages.

First there are the child labor laws. We shouldn’t be allowed to work more than 15 hours a week, if at all. That would certainly free up some time in my life. It would put a bit of a pinch on my income, but considering that as a child I would also be eligible for all kinds of other programs, it might not be a problem.

I assume we would all be eligible for our state’s child health care program. So losing the benefits at our jobs won’t be much of a big deal. This will make up for it. We also should be able to receive AFDC and food stamps, since we are still dependent children. This will give us some dough for clothing, food, and all of the other little essentials. Our rent should probably be paid too.

We can forget about paying our own bills and taking care of all the little inconveniences of life too. I think we are going to have to have court appointed conservators to do that for us. Our APs shouldn’t be saddled with this, after all they did, in most cases, fulfill there obligation to raise us to what would in any other case be adulthood. In some cases, since a lot of adoptees aren’t exactly young anymore, our APs just aren’t around to do this. So they are just going to have to find someone to take care of these things for us, we are children, after all.

I have saved the best for last, I’m pretty sure they are going to have to continue to educate us too. Since the majority of us have at least completed the k-12 thing, and many of us have at least a BS or BA, I’m thinking we are going to have to be allowed to obtain advanced degrees, and additional undergraduate degrees. I’m sure I’m not the only one that looks forward to a life of learning.

I understand that all of this is not going to be cost effective. The amount of money this is going to take is staggering. But what choice do they have, we are still children.

I also understand that treating us as adults and allowing us access to our original birth certificates would be very cost effective in comparison. But knowing how our government works, I can see them implementing the plan I have outlined above without much problem.

Hey, it makes as much sense as anything else to do with adoption.

I urge you to write your legislators immediately.

4 thoughts on “A Call To Action

  1. You are a wonderful lateral thinker, Addie.
    Enough to give Edward de Bono a boner – maybe he’d even nominate you as one of the Right Brain People.

    Anyway, me personally, I’m totally persuaded, and immediately after sending off this response to you, I am going take up my quill and compose a wonderful, brilliant and convincing letter to my legislator (except I’m in Canada, so I’m going to send it to our beautiful Governor General instead, just because she’s nice to look at and so sympatico and loves animals and children)

    I seriously think that all children should be given the best the country has to offer. After all, our children are our future, right? Invest and count not the cost. It’s enlightened self interest, is all.

    You wrote, “I also understand that treating us as adults and allowing us access to our original birth certificates would be very cost effective in comparison. But knowing how our government works, I can see them implementing the plan I have outlined above without much problem.”
    This is so mind-bogglingly true. But on the other hand, Byzantine is what governments are all about. They work in a mysterious way their wonders to perform. I am sure that they’ll be able to put your plan into action with ease.
    And be happy to do it. It makes so much sense.

  2. Honey I have been doing it for two years and I know that you and others have been doing it longer. The last month I have been encourage Indiana adoptees and their mothers to write. All they do is whine about what they want but they are not willing to fight for it. … ARGHHHHHHHHHH.

  3. Blah, Blah, Blah…can’t you write anything original? You think you are so smart, but you are really totally stupid and SO ungrateful! You could of been aborted you know. I feel sorry for the suckers who took you in. You are such a bitch. Get help.

Leave a Reply

