Like It’s Not The Same

I learned something today. Blizzard like conditions are not the same as a blizzard conditions. It seems that blizzard like conditions occur when there is no real snow falling, already fallen snow just blows around. A real blizzard requires snow be falling.

This morning the weatherman  took great pains to explain this. He was adamant that we were not experiencing a blizzard, only blizzard like conditions. Despite his efforts, I’ll tell you that this distinction means very little to the person driving in blizzard like conditions.

I feel that insisting that they be called blizzard like conditions belittles my experience. It makes it seem less significant. I would sound much more brave, tough, and possessed of an adventurous spirit, if I could tell you that I just drove through a blizzard. But no, I just drove through blizzard like conditions. The winds only gusted to like 40 miles per hour, the snow was only like blinding, the drifts were only like all the way across the road. My commute was only like intense.

Pfffffffft.

This has me doubting myself. I have no idea if I have ever driven through a blizzard now. I don’t know if snow was ever actually falling from the sky during the blinding storms that I have driven through. There isn’t any way to tell. If someone ever asks me if I have driven through a blizzard, I won’t know what to say. I will forever question myself due to one weatherman’s passion for accuracy.

Why do we allow our experiences to be nitpicked by others quests to define everything? Do those who either make theses divisions, or seek to enforce them, wish to take ownership of the events of our lives? Do they inflict their knowledge on us for the sake of superiority? Are they simply geeks on a buzzkill mission?

I don’t know. But I do hope that weatherman has to drive home in the worst blizzard like conditions in years.

One thought on “Like It’s Not The Same

  1. Isn’t language the darndest thing when it comes to explaining (or NOT explaining) natural phenomena?

    I’m often confused what they mean when they say partly sunny versus partly cloudy. I’d figure that partly sunny means mostly cloudy, and that mostly sunny means partly cloudy. I guess they like the “partly” moniker because it puts a positive spin on it. Not sure.

Leave a Reply

