I’m Fine. Considering….

I’m Fine, I really am…..considering.

I’m very close to the one year mark of the big bad. Sometimes it’s hard to believe so much time has passed, sometimes it seems like it was much longer ago that I lost David. In this last year I haven’t moved through time in the same way I did before. Some things have moved incredibly fast, others seem not to move at all. I think part of me will always be stuck in the horrifying time when I lost him.

But I’m fine. Considering. Life has gone on, the world has keep turning, and even if I haven’t been completely involved in that forward march at all times, I’ve kept my sense of the movement. As I move into the next year, one thing I fear is people will think I’m over it. I’m not, and I’m not going to be. The passage of time doesn’t change what happened. I’m changed. I may be moving forward, but I haven’t forgotten. It will always be a part of who I am.

Some folks understand I’ll not be the same. They’ve let me know they are still here for me and I can’t tell you how much that means to me. They are my true friends. They know, no matter how fine I seem, I’m still carrying this thing.

It’s been a bittersweet year, good things, wonderful things, have come my way along with the bad. They stand out starkly and beautifully, and they always will. I’ve been given gifts that opened the world back up to me, made me know living is worthwhile, let me know that my ability to love didn’t die.

I have no idea what I want to say here. Just that I’m fine. At least for now.

 

6 thoughts on “I’m Fine. Considering….

  1. I’ve lost two friends in the last 3 weeks. This pointed out yet another change in me since my son died … I simply can’t grieve the way I did before I was all grieved out.
    The change in you is as drastic as in someone who’s lost a vital limb. You live the rest of your days as an amputee. That’s just how it is.
    I’d hug you if I could.

    • I so understand all grieved out. I lost David’s sister recently, and it’s just really hard to get my head around it. It is like there is nothing left there.

      I’ll consider myself hugged, and have one from me too.

Leave a Reply

