Getting All Adopted

I’ve been an aware and active adult adoptee for a long time. I realized long ago how much adoption has effected my life, I did the anger, the search, the finding, the support of others, the activism, and even a little healing. But sometimes I still get all adopted.

But Addie, you say, you will always be adopted, you know that. Yeah, I do, but there is being adopted, and getting all adopted. And all the adoptees out there, no matter what kind of peace you have or haven’t made with your situation, know exactly what I’m talking about. It’s all the nasty stuff about being adopted coming up from what seems like nowhere. The insecurity, the clinginess combined with the urge to run away, the need for constant reassurance, pretty much all the crappy feelings being adopted can whip on you.

Birthdays, alcohol, pictures of kittens progressing relationships, stubbing your toe,stress, grief, being questioned about adoption by a civilian, and waking up in a bad mood, are all major triggers for adoptedness coming out. And trust me, most of us are aware it’s happening, we just can’t stop it. It’s like a random act of PMS.

I don’t think getting all adopted once in a while means much. When it happens, it usually doesn’t mean we’ve gone off the deep end, never to come back. It just means for one reason or another we’re really feeling being adopted right at that moment. It settles down, we feel better, we can see it for what it really is again. For me, anyway, it’s just part of it.

The good news is, I didn’t get too adopted on my birthday. My adoptee friends know exactly what I’m talking about.

 

14 thoughts on “Getting All Adopted

  1. hello!,I really like your writing very much! percentage we
    be in contact extra approximately your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this space to resolve my problem.
    May be that’s you! Having a look forward to see you.

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  3. I am now not positive where you are getting your information, but great topic.
    I must spend some time finding out more or figuring
    out more. Thanks for great info I used to be on the
    lookout for this information for my mission.

  4. I simply couldn’t leave your website before suggesting that I actually
    enjoyed the standard information a person supply on your
    guests? Is gonna be again frequently to check out new posts

  5. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  6. It is wise to actually contact a broker prior to making the
    first deposit to put their customer service skills
    to the test. It has reached the pinnacle of popularity over the Internet, enabling anybody
    to buy and sell currencies. Remember that quality should be just as good as quantity when it comes to the
    additional features of a binary options broker.

  7. The local Public Housing Authority does not, and is not permitted to, screen tenants for
    a Landlord. Intro: Looking for some Valentine’s Day specials
    on Maine Lobster. As I travel, I encounter a great deal of customer service and disservice.

  8. Once you do this your Permalinks glimpse such as this ” On the major of your respective blog page publish you could switch it but clicking “edit”. Now in the age of Internet why we couldn’t reach to SEO training (Search Engine Optimization) in which we get information of each and every thing. Have the right keywords been filled out at the various tags.

  9. Most of tourists say that they have never witnessed such majestic
    scenes of people dancing on the streets with coloured faces.
    With a confluence of varied religious and traits the time to come together and enjoy is plenty.
    According to the legend, this festival of light is celebrated in honour of the return of lord Rama
    to Ayodhya after 14 years of exile.

Leave a Reply

